Autumn

There is something wonderful about the crisp morning air when the Autumn Season aproaches. The following is my top 10 favorite things about this time of year.
1) Warmth & Togetherness. I get excited about wearing featherweight sweaters with leggings as I enjoy sitting by an outdoor fire pit with friends and family.
2) Fallen Leaves. I go out of my way to stomp on fallen leaves just to hear them crunch. (An activity I’ve done since I was a small child).
3) Childlike Enthusiasm for Autumn. Just the other day I summoned my son, Boy Wonder, wash up for supper. He excitedly informed me that he and his neighborhood friends had collected a pile of leaves and we’re preparing to jump in. I couldn’t help but permit his delay coming home. The giggles were contagious and even his little sister, Lady Bug, got tickled by all the commotion. These are the things memories are made of. For a brief moment nothing else mattered but the joy!
4) Beauty.  I also look forward to glorious display of colors ranging from orange, gold, burgundy, purple, and earthy browns divinely arranged against a beautiful clear blue October sky. I simply cannot help but admire the Creator’s work of art – its breathtaking!
5) Autumn in Wisconsin. One of the nicest place to experience all these lovely features of the season is in Wisconsin. One of the things I enjoy about this time of year, in the Northern Midwest, is visiting places with amazing views. I look forward to seeing the fall colors strewn across the landscape like warm cozy afghan blanket. One of the things my husband, Mr. Wonderful, has introduced me to is taking a cruise, the long way around to Holy Hill. We climb the 170+ steps at the Catholic Basilica to the top of a belltower, just so we can admire the 360° panoramic view of rolling hills. On a clear day we can see the City Skyline of Milwaukee in the far distance. I had only seen this kind of landscape when I traveled through the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia as a child.
6) Home Sweet Home. The similarities between Virginia and Wisconsin makes living in Dairyland feel more and more like home.
7) Harvest Time. Autumn makes me think about harvesting pumpkins, apple picking, canning the last of my tomatoes in preparation for rest (winter) and renewal (spring).
8) The Created admiring Creation. I am honored to participate as a member in the beautiful artwork of God. The Father created us in His image and we are also part of the creation we behold as beautiful.
10) Hiking Trails. Spending time outdoors during Autumn seems vital when in relationship with the Almighty.
In closing, I would like to share a stanza from one of my favorite poems that seems fitting for this topic.

“… I long for scenes where man hath never trod
A place where woman never smiled or wept
There to abide with my Creator, God,
And sleep as I in childhood sweetly slept,
Untroubling and untroubled where I lie
The grass below—above the vaulted sky.”

(I Am ~ John Clare)

Leave a Reply

